top of page

Standards Based Teaching: Danielson Framework

Danielson Framework

Originally developed by Charlotte Danielson in 1996, the Danielson Framework uses empirical studies to identify the aspects of teaching which best support and develop student learning. This framework serves as a generalized guide to effective teaching in any grade level, subject area, and across a range of school communities. 

"The FFT is an evolving instructional resource that provides a roadmap for effective teaching. It outlines 22 components and 76 elements organized into Four Domains of Teaching Responsibility: Planning & Preparation, Classroom Environment, Instruction, and Professional Responsibilities. Over time, the FFT has evolved to reflect new learning in the field and meet the needs of today's classrooms and students." - The Danielson Group

Planning and Preparation


Domain 1 outlines the components of designing instruction, how a teacher decides what content to give students as well as how said content will be organized to benefit their specific population. 


Classroom Environment

Domain 2 analyzes the relationships and interactions that take place in the classroom. It assesses the teacher's ability to create and maintain a respectful, safe, and productive learning environment. 



Domain 3 assesses the efficacy of each teacher in the instructional arena of teaching, the core of education. This domain analyzes a teacher's ability to create and maintain engagement in their lessons. 

Professional Responsibilities


Domain 4 considers the multitude of responsibilities teachers have outside of the classroom which are crucial for student success, such as: reflecting on their teaching, communicating with parents, professional growth, etc.

bottom of page